Central Information Commission to be constituted by the Central Government through a Gazette Notification.

Central Information Commission shall consist of one Chief Information Commissioner (CIC) and such number of Central Information Commissioners not exceeding ten as may be deemed necessary.

Now Shri .Wajahat Aabibullah is the Chief Information Commissioner of India.

The Chief Information Commissioner and Central Information Commissioners shall be appointed by the President of India on the recommendation of a committee consisting of the Prime Minister ( Chairperson of Committee), Leader of Opposition in the Lok Sabha and Union Cabinet Minister to be nominated by the Prime Minister.

Candidates for CIC/IC must be persons of eminence in public life with wide knowledge and experience in law, science and technology, social service, management, journalism, mass media or administration and governance.

CIC/IC shall not be a Member of Parliament or Member of the Legislature of any State or Union Territory. He shall not hold any other office of profit or connected with any political party or carrying on any business or pursuing any profession. IC shall hold office for a term of five years from the date on which he enters upon his office or till he attains the age of sixty-five years, whichever is earlier and shall not be eligible for reappointment as IC. Salary will be the same as that of the Election Commissioner. This will not be varied to the disadvantage of the IC during service. IC is eligible for appointment as CIC but will not hold office for more than a total of five years including his/her term as IC.

For more Details Click here



Disclaimer: The information made available on this portal is as provided by the Government Organisation concerned. CDIT is not responsible for the contents of this information.